Manitoba’s Municipal Election Day Draws Nigh!

October 6, 2014

Well look at that – Civic Election Day is less that three weeks out across the Province!  Thanks to the dedicated volunteers who are active in the various Mayoralty, Councillor and School Board Trustee campaigns – some exciting possibilities exist for the election of progressive people to these important posts.

It’s absolutely key that we identify the voters who are prepared to support our candidates, so, if you haven’t already, volunteer in a campaign in your community and let’s get this done!

October 22nd is election day, the day the rubber meets the road and we work hard to make sure we get all of our identified supports to the polls and our candidates elected/

In Winnipeg, the Winnipeg Labour Council released its list of endorsed candidates earlier this year, advising us that these are individuals who share many of our views and values.  Here they are!

Mayor: Judy Wasylycia-Leis
Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry: Jenny Gerbasi
St. Boniface: Matt Allard
Mynarski: Ross Eadie
Elmwood-East Kildonan: Jason Schreyer
St. James-Brooklands: Stefan Jonasson
St. Norbert: Sachit Mehra
Transcona: Ray Ulasy
North Kildonan: Evan Comstock
St. Vital: Brian Mayes
Old Kildonan: Suzanne Hrynyk
Point Douglas: Anthony Ramos

Winnipeg School Division:
Ward 1 – Sherri Rollins
Ward 2 – Chris Broughton
Ward 3 – Mark Wasyliw
Ward 4 – Lisa Naylor
Ward 5 – Kevin Settee
Ward 6 – Cathy Collins
Ward 7 – Allan Beach
Louis Riel School Division:
Ward 1 – Cindy Turner
Ward 2 – Chris Sigurdson
River East-Transcona School Division:
Ward 2 – John Toews
Ward 5 – Brian Olynik
Seven Oaks School Division:
Ward 2 – Greg McFarlane & Nirmal Sidhu
Division scolaire franco-manitobaine (DSFM):
Région urbaine – Patrick Fortier