MFL Young Members Achievement Award goes to Brother Dave Sauer

June 22, 2012

The Manitoba Federation of Labour Young Member Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the Labour movement in furthering the work of reaching out to young workers, both unionized and those still to be organized.  The award also recognizes the individual’s success in furthering the objectives of the MFL to increase young workers’ participation, both in the Federation and in its affiliates.

At the 2012 MFL Convention yesterday, the Young Member Achievement Award was presented by the MFL Young Members Committee to Brother Dave Sauer, President of the Winnipeg Labour Council and a Vice-President of the MFL. Brother Greg McFarlane and Sister Kelly Moist, co-chairs of the Young Members Committee made the presentation on behalf of the MFL.

Brother Sauer is a proud member of the United Steelworkers Local 9074.

He has served as Labour Director for United Way Winnipeg, as interim vice-president of his union local, and as Organizing Chair and Political Action Chair for Steel’s Southern Manitoba Area Council.  He was elected President of the Winnipeg Labour Council in 2009.